Topbar widget area empty.
AROUND ONE TABLE A visit to our partner, the Zoo Zurich (Matt Nowak on the left and Dave Dellatore on the right) - Besuch im Zoo Zürich, vor PanEco-Spendentafel Full view

AROUND ONE TABLE

At the same time pleasant and useful: Recently we welcomed our orangutan protection programme manager Dave Dellatoreand our Head of Research Matt Nowak, both based in Sumatra, to the Zurich wineland, where the PanEco office is located.

The two had a week of workshops on various topics in front of them. They got to know the Swiss PanEco team and also got an first-hand impression of the Bird of Prey Sanctuary and the Thurauen Nature Centre while they were here. But the main purpose of their visit was to coordinate and optimize strategies, processes and interfaces. Working together with the team of Sumatra Orangutan Conservation Programme in Indonesia has become easier with the help of modern technology. But still, such personal, face-to-face meetings are extremely helpful. It is a good way to ensure professional and efficient cooperation in order to drive the holistic protection of the Sumatra orangutans forward which is our main goal.

Matt and Dave enjoy their time in Switzerland even though they are only here for a short visit. While Dave knows the Canton of Zurich as a result of prior work-related visits, Matt came to Switzerland for the first time. The Swiss PanEco time also spent time with them outside work: Amongst other things a barbecue and a trip to the Winterhtur music festival were on the agenda. All in all a great way to foster efficiency and cooperation even if in the “daily business” there is a distance of 10‘000 kilometres between the teams. See you again some other time, Matt and Dave!

> Research within the Sumatra Orangutan Conservation Programme
> The PanEco team

Topbar widget area empty.
À UNE TABLE Visite chez notre partenaire, le Zoo de Zurich (de g. à dr. Matt Nowak et Dave Dellatore) - Besuch im Zoo Zürich, vor PanEco-Spendentafel Full view

À UNE TABLE

Autant utile que réjouissant : nous avons accueilli ces jours Dave Dellatore, le directeur de notre Programme de protection des orangs-outans de Sumatra,ainsi que Matt Nowak notre directeur des recherches à Sumatra dans la région viticole zurichoise, où se trouve le siège de PanEco.

Une semaine remplie de Workshops sur plusieurs thèmes attendait les collaborateurs de PanEco. Ils ont non seulement appris à connaître les collaboratrices et collaborateurs suisses, le Centre nature Thurauen et la Station de soins pour rapaces de Berg am Irchel, mais ils ont aussi eu l’opportunité de coordonner et optimiser les stratégies, processus et interfaces durant les Workshops. Le travail au sein et avec le Programme de protection des orangs-outans de Sumatra est devenu plus facile grâce aux nouvelles technologies. Un tel échange est cependant extrêmement fructueux. Cela nous garantit de pouvoir mener à bien notre collaboration professionnelle et d’avancer vers notre objectif principal, la protection totale des orangs-outans de Sumatra.

Matt et Dave se plaisent en Suisse – même si leur séjour n’est que très court. Alors que Dave avait déjà visité les villes environnantes lors de séjours précédents (liés au travail), Matt a découvert la Suisse pour la première fois. L’équipe suisse de PanEco a aussi entrepris des choses avec les collègues indonésiens en dehors des heures de travail : le programme contenait par exemple des grillades ensemble ainsi qu’une visite à la semaine de la musique à Winterthour. En tout et pour tout, nous pensons que ce sont les ingrédients d’une collaboration efficiente et collégiale, même si 10’000 kilomètres séparent les équipes au quotidien. Au plaisir d’une prochaine fois !

> La recherche dans le Programme de protection des orangs-outans de Sumatra
> L’équipe de PanEco