Topbar widget area empty.
ISLANDS FOR ORANGUTANS The islands for the permanent residents are under construction right now. - Haven Inseln Stand August 2017 Full view

ISLANDS FOR ORANGUTANS

Our Sumatra Orangutan Conservation Programme (SOCP) wants to set up a refuge for orangutans whom we cannot release into the wild again for various individual reasons. In the «Orangutan Haven» they will live on artificial islands. The will be a pathway with a view on the islands. Based on the examples of these tragic fates visitors will learn and understand the disastrous consequences of human behaviour for the orangutans and their habitat.

In July 2017 the excavators appeared and started their work. In the coming months they will transform the former rice field on the area of the «Orangutan Haven» into an island landscape. Water trenches, five metres wide and one and a half metres deep, will serve as a natural fence as orangutans are very afraid of water. A height difference of several metres and system of dams will ensure a constant water flow. The nine islands will be between 600 and 1000 square metres in size. Trees will be planted on them and there will be climbing frames. One island can be home to more than one orangutan provided the animals get along well with each other. Apart form the islands we are building a sedimentation basin in the upper reaches of the stream. Still this year we want to build houses for the orangutans where they can spend the night and receive medical attention if necessary.

Surherry Aprianto, the project head and one of the first employees at our partner organization YEL, is happy with the progress. “Despite working under diffcult conditions we can keep to the schedule.” The muddy subsoil of the rice terraces poses great challenges for landscaping design. In addition there are the heavy and sudden tropical downpours that make excavating even more difficult. However, a pleased Surherry says: «If we stay on course we can relocate the first orangutans by the end of 2018.»

Also, the work on a 32 metres bamboo bridge are well advanced. As a gateway to the «Orangutan Haven» this elegant structure will demonstrate what can be achieved with bamboo, a sustainable resource.

Please donate

Topbar widget area empty.
DES ÎLES POUR ORANGS-OUTANS Des îles pour les habitants permanents sont en ce moment en construction. - Haven Inseln Stand August 2017 Full view

DES ÎLES POUR ORANGS-OUTANS

Notre programme de protection des orangs-outans (SOCP) planifie un refuge à Sumatra pour les orangs-outans que nous ne pouvons plus relâcher dans la nature pour diverses raisons. Dans l’« Orangutan Haven », ils vivront sur des îles créées artificiellement, où ils pourront être observés depuis un chemin piétonnier. Par leurs destins tragiques, les visiteurs apprennent les conséquences fatales que l’activité humaine a pour les orangs-outans et pour leur habitat.

En juillet 2017, les pelles mécaniques sont arrivées et ont commencé leur travail. Ils transformeront ces prochains mois le champ de riz qui se trouvait sur le terrain de l’« Orangutan Haven » en un paysage insulaire. Des fossés de cinq mètres de largeur et de 1 mètre et demi de profondeur remplis d’eau servent de barrière naturelle, car les orangs-outans ont extrêmement peur de l’eau. Une différence de hauteur de plusieurs mètres ainsi qu’un système de barrage assurent que l’eau s’écoule de manière constante. Les neuf îles mesurent entre 600 et 1000 mètres carrés, des arbres y seront ensuite plantés et des structures de grimpe y seront construites. Une île peut accueillir plusieurs orangs-outans, pour autant que ceux-ci s’entendent bien ensemble. Outre les îles, un bassin de décantation se forme en ce moment au cours supérieur du ruisseau, où des sédiments se déposeront plus tard. Cette année encore, la création d’habitations pour les orangs-outans est prévue, dans lesquelles ils pourront passer la nuit et recevront – si nécessaire – leurs traitements médicaux.

Suherry Aprianto, chef de projet et collaborateur de longue date pour notre organisation partenaire YEL, est satisfait de l’avancement du projet : « Malgré que nous travaillions dans des conditions difficiles, nous pouvons tenir le planning. » Le sol marécageux des terrasses de riz est un grand défi pour l’aménagement paysager. À cela s’ajoutent les fortes pluies tropicales apparaissant soudainement, qui compliquent encore un peu plus les travaux des pelles mécaniques. « Si nous maintenons le cap, nous pourrons transférer les premiers orangs-outans d’ici à fin 2018 », se réjouit Suherry.

Par ailleurs, la construction d’un pont en bambou de 32 mètres de long est déjà bien avancée. Cette œuvre élégante servant de « portail » menant à l‘« Orangutan Haven » montrera aux visiteurs ce que la ressource durable du bambou peut apporter.

> Soutenez-nous