Topbar widget area empty.
TOP NOTCH SURGERY ON THE ORANGUTAN A five-member team focused at work: The operation on the open leg of Orang-Utan «Udin» Full view

TOP NOTCH SURGERY ON THE ORANGUTAN

97% congruence of the genome: The orangutan differs genetically only marginally from humans. Therefore, in mid-July, a medical doctor, more specifically an orthopedic surgeon from Switzerland, operated on the leg fracture of an orangutan male in the rescue and rehabilitation station in Sumatra.

Five doctors operated for five hours – our doctors of the Sumatra Orangutan Conservation Program under the direction and supervision of Dr. Andreas Messikommer with the aim to « repair » the leg of Orang-Utan «Udin». The operation was successful.

“Udin” is a familiar face. Five years ago we released the male from Jantho into the wild and monitored him since then. He seemed to enjoy his life in freedom. But in the middle of June this year he was caught up with a problem on the leg. Our senior veterinarian, Dr. Yenny Saraswati, X-rayed the leg in Jantho and discovered a complicated fracture. As this was not a routine intervention, Dr. Messikommer was asked to perform the surgery.

Only a few days after the surgery, “Udin” appears to be back on track. He is already sitting up and eating his favorite fruits again. After a longer recovery process, he will be able to move comfortably in the freedom of the rainforest.

We would like to thank Dr. Andreas Messikommer, who repeatedly provides his knowledge, skills and time for free to us.

> Rescue and rehabilitation station
> Donate for orangutans like Udin

Topbar widget area empty.
SPITZENCHIRURGIE AM ORANG-UTAN Ein fünf-köpfiges Team konzentriert bei der Arbeit: Die OP am offenen Bein von Orang-Utan «Udin». Full view

SPITZENCHIRURGIE AM ORANG-UTAN

97% Deckungsgleichheit beim Erbgut: Der Orang-Utan unterscheidet sich nur genetisch marginal vom Menschen.Deshalb operierte Mitte Juli ein Humanmediziner, genauer ein orthopädischer Chirurg aus der Schweiz, den Beinbruch eines Orang-Utan-Männchens in der Auffang- und Pflegestation in Sumatra.

Fünf Ärzte operierten fünf Stunden lang – dieser Einsatz leisteten unser Ärzteteam vom Sumatra-Orang-Utan-Schutzprogramm unter der Leitung von Dr. Andreas Messikommer, um das Bein von Orang-Utan «Udin» wieder repariert zu kriegen. Die OP verlief erfolgreich.

«Udin» ist ein bekanntes Gesicht; vor fünf Jahren haben wir das Männchen bereits in Jantho in die Freiheit entlassen und ihn seither beobachtet. Er schien, sein Leben in der Freiheit zu geniessen. Doch Mitte Juni diesen Jahres wurde er mit einem Problem am Bein aufgegriffen. Unsere leitende Tierärztin, Dr. Yenny Saraswati, röntgte das Bein noch in Jantho und stellte eine komplizierte Fraktur fest. Da dies kein Routineeingriff war, wurde Dr. Messikommer angefragt, die OP durchzuführen.

Nur wenige Tage nach der OP scheint sich «Udin» auf dem richtigen Weg zu befinden. Er setzt sich bereits auf und frisst wieder seine Lieblingsfrüchte. Nach einem längeren Genesungsprozess wird er sich beschwerdefrei im der Freiheit des Regenwalds bewegen können.

Wir bedanken uns ganz herzlich bei Dr. Andreas Messikommer, welcher uns nicht nur immer wieder sein Wissen, Können und seine Zeit kostenlos zur Verfügung stellt.

> Auffang- und Pflegestation
> Spenden Sie für Orang-Utans wie Udin