Topbar widget area empty.
SUMATRA AND BORNEO: JOINT EFFORTS IN ORANGUTAN PROTECTION The rainforest serves as a workplace: The SOCP employees Samidan and Khalidin at work. Full view

SUMATRA AND BORNEO: JOINT EFFORTS IN ORANGUTAN PROTECTION

Improving the global protection of orangutans by exchange of experience and knowledge.
This was the aim of an exchange of staff between our Sumatra Orangutan Conservation Program (SOCP) in Sumatra and the International Animal Rescue (IAR) NGO in Borneo in May.

Samidan and Khalidin, staff at the Research and Rehabilitation Station in Jantho, spent two exciting and valuable weeks in May in Borneo in a reintroduction station for Borneo orangutans. In return, two IAR employees had the possibility to work in Jantho. The exchange of experience, information and knowledge is so important, because we can learn from each other and protect the orangutans together.

As well as at work  in Jantho, Samidan and Khalidin also spent some time watching the orangutans in their natural habitat in West Kalimantan at Gunung Tarak Station. Both in Sumatra and in Borneo, the orangutans are studied – monitoring workers follow the animals while they are awake and record their routes and exciting behavior patterns. This research helps to protect the orangutans. Thereby, the two learned about some differences between the Sumatra and the Borneo orangutan.

A striking difference is the workplace of the employees. While Khalidin and Samidan are used to following the apes in mostly dry and hilly rainforest areas, the Borneo orangutans live in Gunung Tarak in the swamp rainforest. The time of the observation phase is also different: in Borneo, the orangutans wake up in the middle of the night and in the afternoon, they build their nest for the night. In Sumatra on the other hand, the apes leave in the morning and settle down later for a night’s rest.

> Reintroduction

Topbar widget area empty.
SUMATRA UND BORNEO: GEMEINSAMER ORANG-UTAN-SCHUTZ - Der Regenwald als Arbeitsplatz: Die SOCP-Mitarbeitenden Samidan und Khalidin bei der Arbeit. Full view

SUMATRA UND BORNEO: GEMEINSAMER ORANG-UTAN-SCHUTZ

Die Verbesserung des weltweiten Schutzes der freilebenden Orang-Utans durch Erfahrungs- und Wissensaustausch: Mit diesem Ziel fand im Mai ein Mitarbeiteraustausch zwischen unserem Orang-Utan-Schutzprogramm (SOCP) in Sumatra und der NGO International Animal Rescue (IAR) in Borneo statt.

Samidan und Khalidin unsere Mitarbeiter in der Forschungs- und Auswilderungsstation in Jantho verbrachten im Mai zwei spannende und wertvolle Wochen in Borneo in einer Auswilderungsstation für Borneo-Orang-Utans. Im Gegenzug lernten zwei Mitarbeiter von IAR unsere Arbeit in Jantho kennen. Der Austausch an Erfahrung, Information und Wissen ist deshalb so wichtig, da wir voneinander lernen können und gemeinsam die Orang-Utans schützen möchten.

Wie auch an ihrem Arbeitsplatz in Jantho so verbachten Samidan und Khalidin auch in West-Kalimantan in der Gunung Tarak-Station mehrere Tage damit, Orang-Utans in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum zu beobachten. Sowohl in Sumatra wie auch in Borneo werden die Orang-Utans erforscht, dies geschieht indem Monitoring-Mitarbeitende den Tieren während ihrer Wachphase folgen und die Route und spannende Verhaltensmuster notieren. Diese Forschung hilft dabei, den Orang-Utan zu schützen. Dabei lernten die beiden einige Aspekte der Unterschiedlichkeit zwischen dem Sumatra- und dem Borneo-Orang-Utan kennen.

Ein augenfälliger Unterschied ist etwa der Arbeitsplatz der Mitarbeitenden. Während Khalidin und Samidan gewöhnt sind, den Menschenaffen durch mehrheitlich trockene und hügelige Regenwaldgebiete zu folgen, so leben die Borneo-Orang-Utans in Gunung Tarak im Sumpfregenwald. Auch die Zeit der Beobachtungsphase unterscheidet sich: In Borneo werden die Orang-Utans mitten in der Nacht wach und bauen sich am Nachmittag wieder ihr Nest für das Nachtlager auf. In Sumatra hingegen, ziehen die Waldmenschen erst am Morgen los und lassen sich am Abend zur Nachtruhe nieder.

> Auswilderung