Topbar widget area empty.
BABYROOM JANTHO Zweites Jantho Baby Mameh mit Mutter Mongki - Zweites Jantho Baby Mameh mit Mutter Mongki Full view

BABYROOM JANTHO

For the second time an infant from a reintroduced orangutan mother was born in the Jantho Nature Reserve. «Mameh», the young female orangutan is only the second offspring in our newly built up orangutan population.

On November 7th 2017 our workers from the Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme SOCP have met a former orangutan-patient in the wild of Jantho. To the delight of everyone the orangutan mother «Mongki» was carrying a newborn infant. The team gave her the name «Mameh», which means «beautiful» in Indonesian. Since the beginning of reintroduction in Jantho in 2011, Mameh is now the first female to be born to a new wild population of orangutans.

Since 2011 our Sumatran Orangutan Conversation Programme SOCP had already freed many orangutans from illegal captivities, nursed them in our rescue and rehabilitation station and re-established them in the free wild of Jantho. As well as Mameh’s mother Mongki. The female orangutan was found with her neck chained to a cage in a garage by our team in 2010. After one and a half year of care and rehabilitation near Medan, Mongki was able to get released back into freedom in our resettlement area Jantho.

The birth of already the second infant of a former captivated and reintroduced orangutan mother shows us that we are on the right way. Our aim for the next few years is to establish over 350 more orangutans in the area of Jantho to build up a new, self-sustaining wild population. And in the end to protect the orangutangs from extinction.

> Read more about the first offspring
> Get an orangutan sponsorship

Topbar widget area empty.
BABYSTUBE JANTHO Bei diesem Anblick strahlen unsere Artenschützer-Augen: Mongki mit ihrem Baby Mameh. Full view

BABYSTUBE JANTHO

Im Auswilderungsgebiet Jantho wurde ein Jungtier einer wiederangesiedelten Orang-Utan-Mutter geboren. «Mameh», das junge Orang-Utan Weibchen ist erst der zweite Nachwuchs in unserer neu aufgebauten Population.

Am 7. November 2017 haben unsere Mitarbeitenden des Sumatra-Orang-Utan Schutzprogramms SOCP einen ehemaligen Pflege-Orang-Utan in der Wildnis von Jantho wiedergetroffen. Die Orang-Utan Mutter «Mongki» trug zur Freude aller ein Jungtier mit sich. Das Team gab ihm den Namen «Mameh», was auf Indonesisch «schön» bedeutet. Seit den Anfängen der Auswilderungen in Jantho im Jahr 2011 ist Mameh nun das erste, in eine neue und wilde Population hineingeborene, Weibchen.

Unser Sumatra-Orang-Utan Schutzprogramm SOCP hat seit 2011 schon viele Orang-Utans aus illegalen Gefangenschaften befreit, gepflegt und wieder in der freien Wildnis von Jantho angesiedelt. So auch Mamehs Mutter Mongki. Im Jahr 2010 fand unser Team das Orang-Utan-Weibchen angekettet in einer Garage auf. Nach anderthalb Jahren Pflege in unserer Auffang- und Pflegestation in der Nähe von Medan, konnte Mongki im Wiederansiedlungsgebiet wieder in die Freiheit entlassen werden.

Dass nun schon das zweite Jungtier einer ehemals gefangengehaltenen und wiederangesiedelten Orang-Utan Mutter entdeckt wurde, zeigt uns, dass wir auf dem richtigen Weg sind. Für die nächsten Jahre ist es unser Ziel über 350 weitere Orang-Utans in Jantho auszuwildern, um eine neue, sich selbst erhaltende wilde Population aufzubauen und letztlich die Orang-Utans vor dem Aussterben zu schützen!

> Mehr zu Jantho’s erstem Nachwuchs
> Werden Sie Orang-Utan Pate/in