Topbar widget area empty.
MARK LAK-LAK AND HIS INJURIES The state of health of Mark Lak-Lak has improved during the last two months. Full view

MARK LAK-LAK AND HIS INJURIES

Having a toothache is already painful enough.But in combination with injuries all over his body and signs of depression the orangutan who is currently staying in the SOCP rescue and rehabilitation station has to suffer even more. This is the story of the young male orangutan «Mark Lak Lak».

Mark Lak-Lak was taken to the station on July 13th this year. He was in a really bad condition and had to cope with burn injuries, toothache and gum problems. Furthermore he was really thin, dehydrated and gave the impression of being depressed. Our veterinaries treated his wounds and realised that they had to extract one of his teeth. As a result his toothache the orangutan had only been able to eat soft fruits like bananas.

After two month of medical treatment Mark Lak-Lak is doing much better and the injuries on his skin and in his mouth are healing well. As a result he is capable to eat more varied food again. However, the healing of his mental trauma is taking much more patience. Mark Lak-Lak is extremely suspicious towards humans. Without knowing what really happened to the orangutan, we have to fear the worst. Nevertheless it is absolutely important that Mark Lak-Lak gains trust towards humans to make optimal care possible for him. This will be necessary in order to prepare him for a release into the wild at an appropriate time.

> Rescue and rehabilitation station
> Do you want to support orangutans like Mark Lak-Lak?

Topbar widget area empty.
MARK LAK-LAK ET SES BLESSURES L’état de Mark Lak-Lak s’est beaucoup amélioré durant les deux derniers mois. Full view

MARK LAK-LAK ET SES BLESSURES

Un mal de dents est déjà suffisamment douloureux –avec en plus des blessures et des plaies sur tout le corps ainsi que des dépressions,un orang-outan a enduré encore beaucoup plus au Centre d’accueil et de soins du SOCP. C’est l’histoire du jeune mâle orang-outan « Mark Lak Lak ».

Le 13 juillet de cette année, Mark Lak-Lak était emmené dans la station. Il était en très mauvais état ; il souffrait de multiples blessures ressemblant à des brûlures sur tout le corps, de maux de dents et de problèmes de gencives. Il était de surcroît très maigre, déshydraté, et donnait l’impression d’être fatigué et dépressif. Notre équipe de vétérinaires s’est occupée de soigner ses plaies, et a constaté que l’une de ses dents devait être enlevée. Parce qu’à cause de ses maux de dents, l’orang-outan ne pouvait se nourrir que de fruits très tendres comme par exemple des bananes.

Après deux mois de traitement, Mark Lak-Lak va déjà beaucoup mieux. Ses lésions à l’épiderme et dans la bouche guérissent bien. Cela lui permet de s’alimenter à nouveau d’une manière beaucoup plus diversifiée. La guérison de son traumatisme psychique demande plus de patience. Mark Lak-Lak est extrêmement méfiant envers les humains. Nous ne savons pas exactement ce que l’orang-outan a vécu, mais nous craignons des choses graves. Il est pourtant essentiel que Mark Lak-Lak gagne confiance en les humains pour qu’une prise en charge optimale soit possible. C’est ainsi seulement qu’une réintroduction dans la nature sera rendue possible, en temps voulu.

> Le centre d’accueil et de soins
> Souhaitez vous venir en aide aux orangs-outans comme Mark Lak-Lak ?