Topbar widget area empty.
OPTIMISED RESETTLEMENT PROCESS «Aruna»: This young female orangutan was confiscated in 2015. She was dehydrated and malnourished, when she came to us. Luckily, she recovered quickly. Full view

OPTIMISED RESETTLEMENT PROCESS

In the middle of November, four orangutans were relocated from the SOCP’s rescue and rehabilitation station to Jantho, where they will be released back into the wild. As a last step before their release, they are introduced to the conditions in the local rainforest of the Jantho Nature Reserve.

The journey for most orangutans we rescue is a long one: As soon as they arrive at the rescue and rehabilitation station, most of them must undergo medical treatment for a long period of time. Following their stay, they are transported to the location of their release, where they can accustom themselves to their new environment, before they are released back into the wilderness.

Four orangutans between the ages of five and seven, that were once confiscated and subsequently spent two to three and a half years in the rescue and rehabilitation station, are now in the last stage of this process. During their time with the Sumatran-Orangutan-Conservation-Programme, they were able to grow up and recover from their illnesses under medical supervision. It was also necessary for them to learn certain skills in order to survive in the rainforest. Finally they were allowed to feed on natural components such as fruits and vegetables and they learned or relearned to climb like orangutans. In addition, they had to learn typical behaviour, after having lived with humans for most of their lives. This usually happens in the socialisation cage with other orangutans.

«Aruna», «Cut Luwes», «Leo» and «Ully» are now the first candidates for resettlement, who can pass through the newly optimised process. Recently the acclimatisation has not only taken place in the rescue and rehabilitation station, but also increasingly in the resettlement area,. There, in a similar fashion to the «rainforest school» the orangutans are left in a small, defined piece of forest under supervision. When we deem the candidates ready for an entirely independent life, they are released in the same area into a huge rainforest reserve.

The resettlement candidates

«Aruna»: This young female orangutan was confiscated in 2015. She was dehydrated and malnourished, when she came to us. Luckily, she recovered quickly.

«Cut Luwes», a young female as well, was voluntarily brought to the police by her former owner. Her name is reminiscent of her original habitat, «Gayo Lues», and is a bit of a wordplay from the SOCP-caretakers.

The most important step of our resettlement project is to create new, independent, genetically sustainable populations. The four new orangutans will soon be supporting the Jantho Population and thus help us achieve our main goal in preventing the extinction of orangutans.

> Summary of the reintroduction programme
> The rescue and rehabilitation station

Topbar widget area empty.
PROCESSUS DE RÉINTRODUCTION OPTIMISÉ « Aruna » est l’un de quatre orangs-outans qui va pouvoir bénéficier du nouveau processus de réintroduction dans la nature. Full view

PROCESSUS DE RÉINTRODUCTION OPTIMISÉ

À la mi-novembre, quatre orangs-outans ont pu être transportés du centre d’accueil et de soins au site de leur réintroduction dans la nature à Jantho. Comme dernière étape avant leur réintroduction, ils sont à présent familiarisés directement sur place avec la vie en liberté dans les forêts de la réserve naturelle de Jantho.

De leur sauvetage à un long séjour au centre d’accueil et de soins, du transport dans la région de leur réintroduction dans la nature à l’acclimatation sur place et enfin à la mise en liberté définitive : pour beaucoup d’orangs-outans de notre programme de protection des orangs-outans de Sumatra, le chemin vers la liberté est long.

Quatre orangs-outans, âgés de cinq à sept ans, ont été jadis confisqués à leurs détenteurs illégaux et ont ensuite passé deux à trois ans et demi au centre d’accueil et de soins. Sous encadrement médical, ils ont pu y guérir et grandir. Pendant cette période, une étape importante sur la voie vers la forêt tropicale a consisté à apprendre les aptitudes nécessaires pour survivre dans la forêt. À cet effet, ils ont été réhabitués à une alimentation naturelle, par exemple avec des fruits, et ont réappris à grimper. Par ailleurs, puisqu’ils n’étaient habitués auparavant qu’au contact avec les hommes, ils ont dû développer un comportement typique de leur espèce. Ceci a lieu en groupe, dans l’enclos de socialisation avec d’autres orangs-outans.

« Aruna », « Cut Luwes », « Leo » et « Ully » sont à présent les premiers candidats qui vont profiter du processus optimisé de réintroduction. Depuis peu, en effet, les animaux ne sont plus préparés à une vie en liberté au centre d’accueil et de soins seulement, mais habitués plus directement à la vie dans la forêt juste avant leur mise en liberté. Dans la région même de leur réintroduction, ils bénéficient d’une espèce d’« école de la forêt tropicale » où ils peuvent faire les premières expériences de leur avenir dans une petite zone délimitée de la forêt protégée. Lorsque nous considérons que les candidats sont suffisamment parés à une vie en liberté totale, nous les relâchons au même endroit dans une immense zone de forêt tropicale où ils vivront en toute autonomie.

Les candidats à la réintroduction

« Cut Luwes » (il n’y a malheureusement pas de photo disponible), est une jeune femelle. Son ancien propriétaire l’avait de lui-même remise à la police vers le milieu de l’année 2015. Son nom est tout à la fois une allusion à son habitat d’origine « Gayo Lues » et un jeu de mots anglais des gardiens d’animaux du SOCP.

« Aruna » (voir photo en haut de page) : la jeune femelle orang-outan a été confisquée en 2015. Elle est arrivée chez nous déshydratée et sous-alimentée, mais s’est heureusement remise rapidement.

Le principal objectif de notre activité de réintroduction consiste à développer une nouvelle population autonome et génétiquement viable. Les quatre nouveaux orangs-outans à Jantho viendront bientôt renforcer la population sur place et contribuent ainsi à la réalisation de notre objectif et donc à la préservation des orangs-outans.

> Naissance à Jantho
> Centre d’accueil et de soins