Topbar widget area empty.
SUMATRA AND BORNEO: JOINT EFFORTS IN ORANGUTAN PROTECTION The rainforest serves as a workplace: The SOCP employees Samidan and Khalidin at work. Full view

SUMATRA AND BORNEO: JOINT EFFORTS IN ORANGUTAN PROTECTION

Improving the global protection of orangutans by exchange of experience and knowledge.
This was the aim of an exchange of staff between our Sumatra Orangutan Conservation Program (SOCP) in Sumatra and the International Animal Rescue (IAR) NGO in Borneo in May.

Samidan and Khalidin, staff at the Research and Rehabilitation Station in Jantho, spent two exciting and valuable weeks in May in Borneo in a reintroduction station for Borneo orangutans. In return, two IAR employees had the possibility to work in Jantho. The exchange of experience, information and knowledge is so important, because we can learn from each other and protect the orangutans together.

As well as at work  in Jantho, Samidan and Khalidin also spent some time watching the orangutans in their natural habitat in West Kalimantan at Gunung Tarak Station. Both in Sumatra and in Borneo, the orangutans are studied – monitoring workers follow the animals while they are awake and record their routes and exciting behavior patterns. This research helps to protect the orangutans. Thereby, the two learned about some differences between the Sumatra and the Borneo orangutan.

A striking difference is the workplace of the employees. While Khalidin and Samidan are used to following the apes in mostly dry and hilly rainforest areas, the Borneo orangutans live in Gunung Tarak in the swamp rainforest. The time of the observation phase is also different: in Borneo, the orangutans wake up in the middle of the night and in the afternoon, they build their nest for the night. In Sumatra on the other hand, the apes leave in the morning and settle down later for a night’s rest.

> Reintroduction

Topbar widget area empty.
SUMATRA ET BORNÉO : PROTECTION COMMUNE DES ORANGS-OUTANS La forêt tropicale comme place de travail : les collaborateurs du SOCP Samidan et Khalidin au travail. Full view

SUMATRA ET BORNÉO : PROTECTION COMMUNE DES ORANGS-OUTANS

L’amélioration de la protection mondiale des orangs-outans vivant à l’état sauvage par l’échange d’expériences et de savoir : c’est dans ce but qu’un échange entre collaborateurs de notre Programme de protection des orangs-outans de Sumatra (SOCP) et l’ONG « International Animal Rescue » (IAR) a eu lieu en mai à Bornéo.

Samidan et Khalidin, nos collaborateurs de la station de recherche et de réintroduction à Jantho, ont passé deux semaines captivantes et précieuses au mois de mai à Bornéo dans une station de réintroduction des orangs-outans de Bornéo. En contrepartie, deux collaborateurs de l’IAR ont appris à connaître notre travail à Jantho. L’échange d’expériences, d’informations et de savoir est essentiel afin d’apprendre les uns des autres, et de protéger ensemble les orangs-outans.

De même qu’à leur place de travail à Jantho, Samidan et Khalidin ont également passé du temps à observer les orangs-outans dans leur habitat naturel dans l’ouest de Kalimantan ainsi que dans la station de Gunung Tarak. À Sumatra comme à Borneo, les orangs-outans sont étudiés ; les collaborateurs du Monitoring le font en suivant les animaux durant leur phase éveillée, et prennent note de leur route et de leurs intéressants schémas comportementaux. Cette recherche contribue à la protection des orangs-outans. Ils ont les deux pu identifier quelques aspects divergents entre les orangs-outans de Sumatra et de Bornéo.

Il y a une différence évidente dans la place de travail des collaborateurs. Alors que Khalidin et Samidan sont habitués à suivre les Grands Singes dans des zones de forêt tropicale principalement sèches et vallonnées, les orangs-outans de Bornéo vivent dans une forêt pluviale marécageuse à Gunung Tarak. Il y a également une différence dans l’heure de la phase d’observation : à Bornéo, les orangs-outans se réveillent dans la nuit et reconstruisent leur nid dans l’après-midi en vue de camper pour passer la nuit. À Sumatra par contre, les hommes de la forêt ne se mettent en route que le matin venu, et s’installent plus tard pour prendre leur repos nocturne.

> Réintroduction dans la nature