Topbar widget area empty.
OPTIMISED RESETTLEMENT PROCESS «Aruna»: This young female orangutan was confiscated in 2015. She was dehydrated and malnourished, when she came to us. Luckily, she recovered quickly. Full view

OPTIMISED RESETTLEMENT PROCESS

In the middle of November, four orangutans were relocated from the SOCP’s rescue and rehabilitation station to Jantho, where they will be released back into the wild. As a last step before their release, they are introduced to the conditions in the local rainforest of the Jantho Nature Reserve.

The journey for most orangutans we rescue is a long one: As soon as they arrive at the rescue and rehabilitation station, most of them must undergo medical treatment for a long period of time. Following their stay, they are transported to the location of their release, where they can accustom themselves to their new environment, before they are released back into the wilderness.

Four orangutans between the ages of five and seven, that were once confiscated and subsequently spent two to three and a half years in the rescue and rehabilitation station, are now in the last stage of this process. During their time with the Sumatran-Orangutan-Conservation-Programme, they were able to grow up and recover from their illnesses under medical supervision. It was also necessary for them to learn certain skills in order to survive in the rainforest. Finally they were allowed to feed on natural components such as fruits and vegetables and they learned or relearned to climb like orangutans. In addition, they had to learn typical behaviour, after having lived with humans for most of their lives. This usually happens in the socialisation cage with other orangutans.

«Aruna», «Cut Luwes», «Leo» and «Ully» are now the first candidates for resettlement, who can pass through the newly optimised process. Recently the acclimatisation has not only taken place in the rescue and rehabilitation station, but also increasingly in the resettlement area,. There, in a similar fashion to the «rainforest school» the orangutans are left in a small, defined piece of forest under supervision. When we deem the candidates ready for an entirely independent life, they are released in the same area into a huge rainforest reserve.

The resettlement candidates

«Aruna»: This young female orangutan was confiscated in 2015. She was dehydrated and malnourished, when she came to us. Luckily, she recovered quickly.

«Cut Luwes», a young female as well, was voluntarily brought to the police by her former owner. Her name is reminiscent of her original habitat, «Gayo Lues», and is a bit of a wordplay from the SOCP-caretakers.

The most important step of our resettlement project is to create new, independent, genetically sustainable populations. The four new orangutans will soon be supporting the Jantho Population and thus help us achieve our main goal in preventing the extinction of orangutans.

> Summary of the reintroduction programme
> The rescue and rehabilitation station

Topbar widget area empty.
OPTIMIERTER WIEDERANSIEDLUNGSPROZESS «Aruna» ist einer von vier Orang-Utans, welche sich dem neuen Wiederansiedlungsprozess stellen darf. Full view

OPTIMIERTER WIEDERANSIEDLUNGSPROZESS

Mitte November konnten vier Orang-Utans von der Auffang- und Pflegestation nach Jantho, den Ort ihrer Wiederauswilderung, transportiert werden. Als letzter Schritt vor der Wiederauswilderung werden Sie nun gleich vor Ort in das Leben in Freiheit  in den Wäldern des Jantho Naturreservats eingeführt.

Von ihrer Rettung über einen längeren Aufenthalt in der Auffang- und Pflegestation, über einen Transport ins Gebiet ihrer Wiederansiedlung bis zu der Eingewöhnung vor Ort und der schlussendlichen Wiederansiedlung: Der Weg in die Freiheit vieler Orang-Utans in unserem Sumatra-Orang-Utan-Schutzprogramm ist lang.

Vier Orang-Utans, alle in einem Alter zwischen fünf und sieben Jahren, sind einst aus illegaler Haltung konfisziert worden und haben im Anschluss zwischen zwei- und dreieinhalb Jahre in der Auffang- und Pflegestation verbracht. Dort konnten sie, mit medizinischer Begleitung, genesen und aufwachsen. Ein wichtiger Schritt Richtung Regenwald war in dieser Zeit auch das Lernen von Fähigkeiten für das Überleben im Regenwald. Dafür wurde ihre Ernährung auf natürliche Nahrung, wie zum Beispiel Früchte, umgestellt und das Klettern wieder erlernt. Zudem mussten sie, nur den Umgang mit Menschen gewohnt, arttypisches Verhalten entwickeln. Dies geschieht gruppenweise im Sozialisierungsgehege mit anderen Orang-Utans.

«Aruna», «Cut Luwes», «Leo» und «Ully» sind nun die ersten Kandidaten, die den optimierten Wiederansiedlungsprozess durchlaufen werden. Seit neustem werden die Tiere nicht nur in der Auffang- und Pflegestation auf ein Leben in der Freiheit vorbereitet – sondern unmittelbar vor der Freilassung, vertieft an ein Leben im Wald gewöhnt. Im Auswilderungsgebiet selbst findet eine Art «Regenwald-Schule» statt, wo sich die Orang-Utans in einem abgegrenzten kleinen Gebiet im Schutzwald vorerst auf ihre Zukunft einstellen können. Erachten wir die Kandidaten als genügend fit für ein vollständig freies Leben, werden sie am gleichen Ort in ein riesiges Regenwaldgebiet freigelassen und sich selbst überlassen.

Die Auswilderungskandidaten

«Cut Luwes» (leider kein Foto vorhanden), ist ein junges Weibchen. Sie wurde Mitte 2015 von ihrem ehemaligen Besitzer freiwillig zur Polizei gebracht. Ihr Name soll an Ihren ursprünglichen Lebensraum, «Gayo Lues», erinnern und ist zugleich ein englisches Wortspiel der SOCP-Tierpfleger.

«Aruna» (siehe Titelbild): Das junge Orang-Utan-Weibchen wurde 2015 konfisziert. Sie kam dehydriert und unterernährt bei uns an, ist aber glücklicherweise schnell genesen.

Das wichtigste Ziel unserer  Wiederansiedlung ist es, neue, unabhängige, genetisch tragbare Population zu schaffen. Die vier neuen Orang-Utans in Jantho stärken bald die Population und tragen somit dazu bei, unser Ziel zu erreichen und damit die Orang-Utans zu erhalten.

> Nachwuchs in Jantho
> Die Auffang- und Pflegestation