Topbar widget area empty.
DAMS CAUSE EARTHQUAKES: DANGER FOR THE ORANGUTANS Easy to recognise: Several earthquakes desolated the west coast of Sumatra in the last 100 years. Source: USGS Earthquake Catalog. Full view

DAMS CAUSE EARTHQUAKES: DANGER FOR THE ORANGUTANS

Palm-oil plantations are most often the reason for deforestation of valuable rainforests in Indonesia. On Sumatra, the Leuser ecosystem is particularly affected. Furthermore, another threat results from the planned infrastructural projects! Now, there is the knowledge that those projects may even provoke earthquakes.

Indonesia is a high-risk earthquake area. The amount of earthquakes in the last 100 years has increased significantly. The province Aceh on the island Sumatra is one of the earthquake-hotspots in Indonesia. There is a real danger that a planned dam in a sensitive area could collapse during an earthquake. The «Tampur-dam» is planned in the middle of the Leuser ecosystem. This well-known and extremely valuable area of rainforest and its habitants would be seriously damaged in such a scenario.

The research team of our Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme investigated the impact of a potential construction of a dam in the Leuser ecosystem. It is a fact that not only the described risk potential of earthquakes at this location is a problem, but also the construction itself could cause earthquakes. As the dam would be built on fragile ground, the enormous dammed masses of water could provoke earthquakes. The research now forms the basis to inform the project’s decision-makers and their environment.

Although law in Indonesia provides for the protection of the rainforest and its animals, huge palm-oil plantations and infrastructural projects in the rainforest threaten the rainforest again and again massively. This loss causes much suffer not only for the animals and plants, but also for the population who feel the impacts very directly. The Leuser ecosystem lies in the North of the Island Sumatra, in the province Aceh. This biggest contiguous area of rainforest in Southeast-Asia is the home of the last remaining 13’200 Sumatra Orangutans.

> Research in the SOCP

Topbar widget area empty.
STAUDÄMME LÖSEN ERDBEBEN AUS: GEFAHR FÜR DIE ORANG-UTANS Gut erkennbar: Die Westküste Sumatras wurde in den letzten 100 Jahren von zahlreichen Erdbeben heimgesucht. Quelle: USGS Earthquake Catalog Full view

STAUDÄMME LÖSEN ERDBEBEN AUS: GEFAHR FÜR DIE ORANG-UTANS

Palmöl-Plantagen sind meistens der Grund für die Abholzung von wertvollem Regenwald in Indonesien. Auf Sumatra ist das Regenwaldgebiet Leuser-Ökosystem betroffen. Die Bedrohung geht darüber hinaus gegenwärtig auch von geplanten Infrastruktur-Projekten aus! Nun gibt es die Erkenntnis, dass solche Projekt sogar Erdbeben provozieren können.

Indonesien ist ein Hochrisiko-Erdbebengebiet. Die Zahl der Beben hat in den letzten 100 Jahren stark zugenommen. Die Provinz Aceh auf der Insel Sumatra ist innerhalb Indonesiens eine der Erdbeben-Hotspots. Bei einem Beben in einem heiklen Gebiet würde gegenwärtig etwa ein geplanter Staudamm einzustürzen drohen. Der «Tampur-Staudamm» ist mitten im Leuser-Ökosystem geplant. Dieses bekannte und äusserts wertvolle Regenwaldgebiet und dessen Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner würden in einem entsprechenden Szenario enormen Schaden nehmen.

Das Forschungsteam unseres Sumatra-Orang-Utan-Schutzprogramms untersuchte, welche die Auswirkungen eines solchen potentiellen Staudamm-Baus im Leuser-Ökosystem wären. Fakt ist, dass nicht nur das beschriebene Gefahrenpotential von Erdbeben an diesem Standort ein Problem darstellt, sondern der Bau selbst auch Erbeben auslösen kann. Da der Staudamm auf fragilem Boden errichtet werden würde, könnten die gewaltigen gestauten Wassermassen ihrerseits Erdbeben auslösen. Diese Untersuchungen liefern nun die Grundlagen, Entscheidungsträger dieses Projekts und ihr Umfeld entsprechend zu informieren.

Obwohl der Schutz des Regenwalds und der darin lebenden Tiere in Indonesien per Gesetz garantiert ist, bedrohen grosse Palmölkulturen und Infrastrukturprojekte den Regenwald immer wieder massiv. Bei Verlust ebendiesen leiden nicht nur die Tiere und Pflanzen. Auch Menschen spüren die Auswirkungen hautnah! Im Norden der Insel Sumatra, in der Provinz Aceh, liegt das Leuser-Ökosystem. Dieses grösste zusammenhängende Regenwaldgebiet Südost-Asiens ist das Zuhause der letzten 13´200 Sumatra-Orang-Utans.

> Forschung im SOCP