Search
Close this search box.

Orangutan Haven

The original idea for the Orangutan Haven was to provide a long term home and improved quality of life for orangutans that cannot be released to the wild. With 48 hectares of mixed agro forest land available, however, the vision and goals of the Haven are today much more than this. The Haven is unique, and highly innovative, and will be a major education, conservation and recreation asset for the entire region.

Goals

«The Orangutan Haven will be a major asset in the region for education, conservation and recreation, promoting concern for the environment and biodiversity and the importance of more sustainable development. Its potential for changing the perceptions and behaviour of visitors of all kinds is limited only by our imagination!»

Dr. Ian Singleton

Conservation Director PT Orang Utan Haven & Senior Advisor PanEco Foundation

Successes

History

Idea
Regina Frey, Ian Singleton and Sofyan Tan dream of a semi-natural enclosure for orangutans that can no longer live in the wild - and develop the idea of an environmental education center.
Land acquisition
In November, PanEco purchases a suitable site of 46.3 hectares in a lush agroforestry area near the city of Medan, North Sumatra Province.
Boundary setting
Detailed designs are developed. Surrounded by man made moats the orangutan islands will blend into the Haven’s undulating agroforestry landscape.
Bamboo Bridge
Within 8 months, the first building at the Orangutan Haven, the iconic bamboo bridge over the Sungai Tengah torrent, is constructed under the direction of bamboo expert Jürg Stamm. The impressive structure, designed in traditional Karo Batak style by architect Lukas Zollinger, dominates the entrance to the Orangutan Haven. At that time it is the longest single span, wholly bamboo constructed bridge in then world.
Veterinary clinic and islands
The basic structure of the 9 islands surrounded by water moats in former fish ponds and rice paddies is completed. In the same year, a veterinary clinic and an ecofarming center are built.
Bird aviary and water moats
Construction begins on 24 specially designed aviaries for captive breeding programs for endangered Sumatran songbirds, and the interconnected moats around the orangutan islands are flooded for the first time.
Environmental education
The first schools visit the Orangutan Haven and help develop the Haven’s education programme. They take advantage of newly developed teaching modules and experience Sumatran forests up close on the Leuser Ecotrail.
Entrance
With the completion of the impressive «ticketing» office made of bamboo, another milestone is reached in development of the Haven’s visitor infrastructure. The entire entrance area with access roads, parking lots and restrooms is laid out.
September: The first orangutan moves in
Finally! After a long wait, we get the green light from the government to move the orangutans from nearby SOCP Quarantine and Rehabilitation Centre to the Orangutan Haven. 17-year-old Krismon is the first new resident, seven more will follow soon.
Outlook
Preparations for opening the Orangutan Haven to visitors are at last in full swing with preparations being made to open the gates in 2024.
2010
2012
2015
2017
2019
2021
2022
2023
2023
2024
01

The Orangutans

The Orangutan Haven will be the new home for eight individual orangutans, some of which have been living in the Quarantine and Rehabilitation Centre for years. Due to blindness or other physical challenges, they can never be reintroduced into the wild and need to be cared for by experienced caretakers and veterinarians, to whom these sensitive animals have become accustomed. At Orangutan Haven, they live on naturalistic vegetated islands instead of in metal enclosures. The orangutans in the Haven will be ambassadors for their wild counterparts and instrumental in changing the perceptions and attitudes of visitors, allowing them to continue contributing to the long-term survival of their species.

Leuser (m, born 2000), blind

Status: moved to the Orangutan Haven and out on the islands

Leuser was confiscated in 2004 near Kutacane in the southeast of Aceh from an illegal pet keeper. Shortly after, we were able to successfully release him into the protected forests of Bukit Tigapuluh National Park in Jambi province. Two years later, however, he wandered beyond the parks boundaries and was shot at by some local framers. The SOCP-Team immediately brought Leuser, who was completely confused and severely injured, to the Quarantine and Rehabilitation Centre. X-rays showed that Leuser had received 62 air rifle pellets in his body, 2 in one eye and 1 in the other, meaning he would be blind for the rest of his life.

Krismon (m, born ~1995), traumatised

Status: moved to the Orangutan Haven and out on the islands

Krismon was confiscated as an adult male in North Sumatra province. He had been kept since 1998 in a metal cage about 1.5 metres in length and width. He had entered this cage as a young infant and been there for almost 19 years! We know this as his name is short for «krisis moneter» or monetary crisis’, which refers to Indonesia in 1998. As krismon grew bigger, he had barely any space to move. It is no wonder that his rescue and subsequent intensive care had a strong impact on his physical and mental development. He still has occasional tremors and sometimes drools from his bottom lip, but on the whole he has made remarkable progress and loves to be high off the ground.

Paguh (m, born 1992), blind

Status: moved to the Orangutan Haven and out on the islands

Paguh is a wild adult male who came to the SOCP with 26 air rifle pellets scattered all over his body. Like Leuser he is also blind. Despite being totally wild, Paguh is surprisingly relaxed towards the SOCP’s care team. He also regularly makes «long calls», to remind the other orangutans, and his care team, that he is there.

Dina (f, born 2016), blind

Status: moved to the Orangutan Haven and out on the islands

7-year-old Dina is the youngest resident to move into the Orangutan Haven. She was confiscated as an illegal pet in 2016 when just a few months old. During health checks after her arrival with the SOCP, it was noticed that she was suffering from encephalitis (infection of the brain). Over time, this led to almost complete paralysis of her entire body. After many months of round the clock care and hand feeding by a dedicated team, her body’s ability to function returned, but her vision remains seriously impaired.

Deknong (f, born 2002), joint problems

Status: moved to the Orangutan Haven

Deknong was an illegal pet and was confiscated from her owner in 2007. Several months later we were able to release her at the edge of the Bukit Tigapuluh National Park in Jambi. After some time, free in the forest, she was found on the ground one day by the SOCP surveillance team. For some unknown reason she was virtually paralyzed from the waist down and had strange growths on some of her joints. Fortunately, her body gradually recovered and today she is fit and active again, but her left wrist remains severely bent and she cannot fully extend her arm.

Lewis (m, born 1991), blind

Status: moved to the Orangutan Haven

Lewis was evacuated from a large plantation area in Aceh province. Large tracts of his forest home have been converted to agriculture in recent years, affecting countless other orangutans as well. With little habitat left, Lewis was forced to look for food in the plantations, when local farmers tried to scare him away by shooting at him with air guns. Lewis needed surgery twice but recovered well, though he did lose his eyesight.

Fahzren (m, born ~1999 ), not shy of humans

Status: in preparation to be moved, in the Quarantine and Rehabilitation station

Fazhren fell victim to the illegal wildlife trade as an infant and grew up in Malaysia. When he was found to have been smuggled into the country illegally, several years later, he was repatriated to Indonesia, where he arrived with us in 2013. By then, Fazhren was already an extremely powerful fully adult male orangutan. Because he has spent his whole life in human hands and shows no natural shyness, the SOCP team feels it would be unwise to have him wandering around in a forest. The likelihood of him encountering humans and causing probles is too great. Sadly, therefore, even though he is fit and healthy, Fahzren will remain in human hands for the rest of his days.

Hope (f, born ~1993), blind, traumatised

Status: in the Quarantine and Rehabilitation station

Hope and her very small baby were evacuated from farmland in 2019 due to conflicts with the farmers. On arrival at the scene the team found her in a critical condition with deep cuts, a broken collar bone and 74 air rifle pellets in her body, including in her eyes. It appeared she had been severely beaten with sticks and machetes. Sadly, during the journey to the SOCP her baby died as a result of his injuries. Fortunately the veterinary team was able to stabilise Hope’s condition and she has recovered well, but to this day, she remains severely traumatised by her experience and afraid of people she doesn’t know well.

«Since orangutans could live to be more than 50 years old and the the orangutans that should be moved to the Haven can never be released, there is a pressing need to provide these individuals with a far more acceptable and natural long-term home than the metal cages they live in today»

Drh. Citrakasih Nente

Head of Ex-Situ Department

Previous slide
Next slide
02

Songbird breeding programme

24 aviaries have been built for the captive breeding of endangered Sumatran songbird species. This initiative is at the request of the IUCN Asian Songbird Trade Specialist Group and is supported by the Silent Forest campaign of the European Association of Zoos and Aquaria.

Indonesia has the second highest number of globally threatened bird species in the world (146 species, as of September 2015). The wildlife trade is the biggest threat to many of these birds, besides the problem of degradation of their habitat, the tropical rainforest. The most affected bird groups are the songbirds as they are popular with bird keepers who enter them in singing competitions to win prizes.

Straw-headed bulbul (Pycnonotus zeylanicus)

The straw headed bulbul is often kept by people because of its melodious, trilling song. The greatest threat comes from trappers who capture it for the pet trade. Its status on the IUCN Red List of Threatened species is «Critically Endangered».

Nias hill myna (Gracula robusta)

The Nias hill myna is «Critically Endangered» due to poaching for the pet trade. It has been officially protected under Indonesian Law. This species is endemic to the island of Nias and a couple of smaller islands offshore. It has even become the «mascot»-species for the island, but no free-living specimens have been seen in the wild in Nias since around 2000.

Sumatran laughing thrush (Garrulax bicolor)

Protected under Indonesian law, the Sumatran laughing thrush has been listed as «Endangered species» on the IUCN’s Red List since 2016. Because of its loud, noisy behaviour, it is an easy target for trappers who capture it for lucrative sales. At least three breeding pairs are currently planned at Orangutan Haven.

Sumatran Mesia (Leiothrix laurinae)

This small but very colourful bird is endemic to Sumatra and possibly in imminent danger of extinction. It is therefore protected under Indonesian law and has been on the Red List as an Endangered species since 2016. Because of its beautiful plumage it is a popular bird among Indonesia’s bird keepers and regularly appears in the markets. Little is known about its current status in the wild but experts suspect that numbers have plummeted in recent years.

Previous slide
Next slide
03

Education

The 48-hectare site of the Orangutan Haven is becoming a unique and comprehensive educational resource with an outreach to the entire region. The Haven’s environmental education team, in collaboration with local schools and the government’s education authorities have developed an innovative learning program for school groups, and others, of all ages. These allow us to promote wildlife and species conservation, ecosystem protection and sustainable development to a wide and diverse audience.

Individual visitors can follow three different nature trails, visit the interactive exhibition at the visitor centre, and wander around our ecofarming centre. We also offer guided excursions.

Ecotrails

Three nature learning trails lead through the Orangutan Haven. They are thematically named after three of the areas in northern Sumatra where YEL operates field projects: the Leuser Ecosystem, Suaq Balimbing Research Station and the Jantho Orangutan Reintroduction Centre. The Leuser Ecotrail, which introduces different aspects of the Leuser National Park and Ecosystem, is already fully accessible and the Suaq trail will be completed in the next few months.

School visits

Since June 2022, schools from all over the region have been invited to visit the Orangutan Haven. School classes learn about the rainforest ecosystem on guided tours and are sensitised to environmental issues. They visit the Ecofarming Centre and experience the rainforest up close on the nature trails. The environmental education team visit schools too, where they raise awareness of biodiversity and present the Orangutan Haven.

Rimba Raya Visitor Centre with exhibition

The Rimba Raya Visitor Centre will be the central information point for visitors after crossing the iconic Bamboo Bridge. Here, visitors will be able to get information about all our activities and to book guided tours. The centerpiece will be an interactive exhibition where visitors can immerse themselves in the rainforest ecosystem and learn what they can do to protect this unique habitat.

Networking and partnerships

We organise training and workshops on environmental education, biodiversity and species conservation for teachers and members of local communities. Together with them, we define, design and implement projects. Internships are offered to students of environmental education and sustainable development so that they can consolidate their skills and put them into practice.

«Even though the Orangutan Haven is not officially open yet we already get a lot of schools and other groups making use of the Haven’s nature trails and organic farm. We’ve developed a number of teaching modules that assist local schools in fulfilling their national curriculum requirements. The kids just love to get out to such a beautiful location.»

Maria Suhatri

Head of Education Team Orangutan Haven, YEL

Previous slide
Next slide
04

Sustainable Construction

At Orangutan Haven, climate protection and sustainable building are very important. By using new, innovative techniques in design but also in construction with materials that we process on site, we are doing pioneering work to rethink the conventional construction industry. In addition, our buildings are equipped with clean and renewable energy sources.

We are particularly strong in processing bamboo. Through our independent construction work, the Orangutan Haven has developed into a center of excellence for harvesting, treating and processing bamboo as a sustainable building material. In addition to the buildings, various products are made from bamboo that are used or sold locally.

Bamboo

In the tropical climate of Sumatra, fast growing bamboo provides an ideal material for sustainable construction. It is locally and abundantly available and plays a key role in the selection of our constructing methods. Bamboo provides an excellent alternative to hardwoods. Because the bamboo poles are hollow on the inside and have so-called nodal rings at regular intervals, they are light but strong and very stable. Spread over a total area of 47 hectares, the Orangutan Haven grows bamboo for its own use and serves as a model of sustainable forestry. It eliminates transportation costs for this important resource altogether. The bamboo poles are cleaned, immunized against termites, dried, and then used to build bamboo structures. Even the shingles for the roofing are made by our workers on site.

Tamped earth technique

Worldwide, the construction industry is responsible for more than 30% of total carbon dioxide emissions. A considerable part of this percentage is generated by the production of cement. For this reason, we avoid the use of concrete as much as possible in the Haven. It is replaced by innovative construction materials made from local sand and clay. The walls of the buildings, for example, are created from layers of clay that are pressed into molds with homemade tampers, as shown in the video. In addition to avoiding cement, green technologies are used wherever possible. Photovoltaic panels are installed on the roofs, or they are ‘greened’ for its cooling and water absorbing effect.
.

Sustainable electricity

The Orangutan Haven needs a reliable energy supply, which we produce ourselves as much as possible from clean and renewable energy sources. Since 2017, a micro hydro power plant on the premises has been supplying some of the electricity. The electricity for the ticket booth and the island facilities comes from solar panels installed on the roofs.

Rainwater treatment

The restroom facilities run on rainwater that is filtered and treated on the green roof. The restaurant, too, will one day cover its water needs with filtered rainwater and draw its hot water from a solar-powered water heating system.
The infrastructure and construction methods at Orangutan Haven are unique. It is a place where you can discover what sustainable construction really means.

«The infrastructure and construction methods in Orangutan Haven are unique. It is a place where you can get to know and discover sustainable construction. I am proud that we can pass something on to the future generation with these flagship buildings.»

Suherry

Constructionmanager Orangutan Haven, YEL

Previous slide
Next slide
05

Eco-Farming

The Orangutan Haven’s area of 52 hectares offers enormous potential to promote sustainable organic farming practices. A wide variety of cash crops, fruits and vegetables such as rubber, citrus, cacao, durian, banana, pandan leaves, spinach, pineapple, sugar cane, oil palm are present throughout the site’s existing traditional agroforest mosaic. 

The Eco-Farm building next to the nursery was erected in 2019. It currently functions as a training facility for farmers, as an aula and shelter for visiting schools and other groups, and storage for seeds, crops and tools.

Previous slide
Next slide

Partner

The Orangutan Haven is operated by the limited liability company PT Orangutan Haven. Our sister foundation YEL is the main shareholder of the company. It is financed by partner organisations and donations from private individuals.

YEL is our sister foundation in Sumatra. It is responsible for the implementation on site.

  Website YEL

Aktuell

-
Orangutan protection

How do you drive an orangutan from your garden?

-
PanEco, Rainforest protection

Community service in Medan: making biodiversity measurable

My donation for the orangutan and rainforest conservation

Scroll to Top

Suche
Close this search box.

Orangutan Haven

Vor mehr als zehn Jahren entstand die Idee eines Umweltbildungszentrums mit einer naturnahen Anlage für Orang-Utans, die auf Grund ihrer Verletzungen nicht mehr ausgewildert werden können – der «Orangutan Haven». Über die Jahre der Projektentwicklung entstand auf dem 48 Hektar grossen Gelände nahe Medan, der grössten Stadt Sumatras,  ein einzigartiger, innovativer Ort für Umweltbildung, Naturschutz und Erholung für die ganze Region.  

Ziele

«Der Orangutan Haven wird in der gesamten Region einen wichtigen Beitrag zu Bildung, Naturschutz und Erholung leisten und das Verständnis für die Bedeutung von Umweltschutz, den Erhalt der Artenvielfalt sowie die Dringlichkeit einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung fördern. Es besteht ein riesiges Potential, im Orangutan Haven das Bewusstsein und die Wahrnehmung für diese Anliegen bei den verschiedenen Besuchergruppen zu verändern.»

Dr. Ian Singleton

Conservation Director Orangutan Haven

Erfolge

Geschichte

Idee
Regina Frey, Ian Singleton und Sofyan Tan träumen von einem naturnah gebauten Gehege für Orang-Utans, die nicht mehr in Freiheit leben können – und entwickeln die Idee eines Zentrums für Umweltbildung.
Landerwerb
Im November kauft PanEco ein geeignetes Gelände von 46.3 Hektar in einem üppigen Agroforestgebiet in der Nähe der Stadt Medan, Provinz Nordsumatra.
Grenzlegung
Die detaillierten Pläne für den Orangutan Haven liegen vor. Die von künstlichen Wassergräben umgegebenen Inseln, auf denen die Orang-Utans leben werden, fügen sich in die hügelige Agroforest-Landschaft ein.
Bambus-Brücke
Innerhalb von 8 Monaten entsteht unter der Leitung des Bamboo-Experten Jürg Stamm als erstes die ikonische Bambus-Brücke über den Wildbach Sungai Tengah – mit 30 Metern Spannweite zu dieser Zeit die längste Brücke der Welt, die einzig aus Bambus gebaut ist. Das beeindruckende Bauwerk im traditionellen Karo Batak-Stil von Architekt Lukas Zollinger dominiert den Eingangsbereich.
Veterinärklinik und Inseln
Die Grundstruktur der neun Inseln, die von Wassergräben umgeben sind, ist fertiggestellt. Im selben Jahr werden eine Veterinärklinik und das Ecofarming-Zentrum gebaut.
Vogelvoliere und Wassergräben
Für das Zuchtprogramm der vom Aussterben bedrohten Sumatra-Singvögel beginnt der Bau von 24 Volieren. Die miteinander verbundenen Wassergräben um die Inseln werden erstmals geflutet.
Umweltbildung
Erste Schulen besuchen den Orangutan Haven und helfen, das Bildungsprogramm zu entwickeln. Sie profitieren von den neuen Umweltbildungsmodulen und erleben auf dem Leuser-Ecotrail den Wald hautnah.
Eingangsbereich
Mit der Fertigstellung des eindrücklichen Tickethäuschens aus Bambus und gestampften Lehmwänden ist ein weiterer Meilenstein im Bau der Besucherinfrastruktur geschafft. Der gesamte Eingangsbereich mit Strassenführung, Parkplatz und Toilettenanlage wird angelegt.
September: Der erste Orang-Utan zieht ein!
Endlich! Nach langem Warten erhalten wir von der Regierung grünes Licht, dass wir die Orang-Utans von der Auffang- und Pflegestation in den Orangutan Haven umsiedeln dürfen. Der 17 Jahre alte Krismon ist der erste, sieben weitere folgen bald.
Ausblick
Die Vorbereitungen für die Eröffnung des Orangutan Haven laufen auf Hochtouren. Sie wird für das kommende Jahr angestrebt.
2010
2012
2015
2017
2019
2021
2022
2023
2023
2024
01

Die Orang-Utans

Der Orangutan Haven wird die neue Heimat für acht Orang-Utans, die teilweise seit Jahren in der Auffang- und Pflegestation leben. Weil sie blind oder anderweitig körperlich beeinträchtigt sind, können sie nie mehr ausgewildert werden und brauchen Betreuung durch erfahrene Tierpfleger:innen und Tierärzt:innen, an die sich diese sensiblen Tiere gewöhnt haben. Im Orangutan Haven bewohnen sie natürlich bewachsene Inseln, anstelle von Metallgehegen.

Die Orang-Utans im Haven sind Botschafter für ihre im Regenwald lebenden Artgenossen und tragen zum langfristigen Überleben ihrer Art bei, weil sie durch ihre Präsenz die Sensibilisierung der Besucher:innen für die Bedrohungen der Orang-Utans und des Regenwaldes unterstützen.

Leuser (m, Jg. 2000), blind

Status: eingezogen in den Orangutan Haven, auf seiner Insel

Leuser wurde 2004 bei Kutacane im Südosten von Aceh aus illegaler Haustierhaltung beschlagnahmt. Schon kurz darauf konnten wir ihn im Schutzwald des Bukit Tigapuluh National Parks in Jambi erfolgreich auswildern. Zwei Jahre später wurde er auf einem Acker am Rande des Parks angeschossen und gefangen genommen. Das SOCP-Team brachte den völlig verwirrten und schwer verletzten Leuser sofort in die Auffang- und Pflegestation. Die Röntgenaufnahmen zeigten, dass Leuser 62 Luftgewehrkugeln abbekommen hatte, zwei in einem Auge und eine im anderen. Er ist für immer erblindet.

Krismon (m, Jg. ~1995), traumatisiert

Status: eingezogen in den Orangutan Haven, auf seiner Insel

Krismon wurde als ausgewachsenes Männchen in der Provinz Nordsumatra beschlagnahmt. Man hatte ihn fast 19 Jahre lang in einem Metallkäfig von etwa 1.5 Metern Seitenlängen gehalten, in dem er kaum genug Platz hatte, um aufzustehen oder sich zu bewegen. Kein Wunder, hatte die Befreiung und die anschliessende intensive Betreuung starke Auswirkungen auf seine körperliche und mentale Entwicklung. Heute hat er ab und zu einen Rückfall und beginnt unkontrolliert zu zittern, alles in allem hat er aber bemerkenswerte Fortschritte gemacht und liebt es, hoch über dem Boden zu sein.

Paguh (m, Jg. 1992), blind

Status: eingezogen in den Orangutan Haven, auf seiner Insel

Der ausgewachsene Paguh kam mit 26 Luftgewehrkugeln, die über seinen Körper verstreut waren und ihm das Augenlicht nahmen, in die Auffang- und Pflegestation. Obwohl er immer in der Wildnis lebte, verhält sich Paguh gegenüber dem Betreuerteam stets überraschend entspannt. Paguh stösst regelmässig einen «Long Call» aus um die anderen Orang-Utans und die Pfleger:innen daran zu erinnern, dass er da ist.

Dina (w, Jg. 2016), blind

Status: eingezogen in den Orangutan Haven, auf ihrer Insel

Die sieben Jahre alte Dina wird als Jüngste in den Orangutan Haven einziehen. Sie wurde als illegales Haustier beschlagnahmt, als sie erst einige Monate alt war. Bei den Gesundheitschecks durch das SOCP-Team hat man gemerkt, dass sie an einer Enzephalitis (Infektion des Gehirns) leidet. Dies führte mit der Zeit zur fast völligen Lähmung ihres gesamten Körpers und einem Blick ins Leere. Nach vielen Monaten mit permanenter Betreuung und der Fütterung von Hand durch das SOCP-Team ist die Funktionsfähigkeit ihres Körpers zurückgekehrt, aber ihr Sehvermögen ist schwer geschädigt.

Deknong (w, Jg. 2002), Gelenkprobleme

Status: eingezogen in den Orangutan Haven

Deknong wurde als illegales Haustier gehalten und 2007 konfisziert. Einige Monate später konnten wir sie am Rande des Bukit Tigapuluh-Nationalparks in Jambi freilassen. Wenig später wurde sie vom SOCP-Überwachungsteam am Boden gefunden. Aus unerklärlichen Gründen war sie von der Hüfte abwärts  gelähmt und hatte seltsame Wucherungen an einigen Gelenken. Glücklicherweise erholte sich ihr Körper nach und nach und heute ist sie wieder fit und aktiv. Ihr linkes Handgelenk bleibt aber stark gebeugt und sie kann diesen Arm nicht vollständig strecken.

Lewis (m, Jg. 1991), blind

Status: eingezogen in den Orangutan Haven

Lewis wurde aus einer Gegend mit grossen Plantagen in der Provinz Aceh evakuiert. Grosse Stücke seines Lebensraumes, dem Regenwald, wurden in Landwirtschaftszonen umgenutzt. Das hat ihn dazu gezwungen, in den Plantagen nach Futter zu suchen. Die lokalen Bauern verscheuchten ihn mit Luftgewehren und verletzten ihn dabei am ganzen Körper. Glücklicherweise erholte sich Lewis gut von den zwei Operationen, er hat aber sein Augenlicht verloren.  

   Möchten Sie eine Patenschaft für Lewis übernehmen? 

Fahzren (m, Jg. ~1999 ), keine Scheu vor Menschen

Status: in Vorbereitung für den Umzug, in der Aufgang- und Pflegestation

Fazhren fiel als Jungtier dem illegalen Wildtierhandel zum Opfer und wuchs in Malaysia  auf. Als man herausgefunden hat, dass er illegal ins Land geschmuggelt worden war, hat man ihn nach Indonesien zurückgeführt, wo er 2013 bei uns ankam. Zu dem Zeitpunkt war Fazhren bereits ein voll ausgewachsener, äusserst kräftiger Orang-Utan mit Backenwülsten. Weil er sein ganzes Leben in Menschenhand verbracht hat und keine natürliche Scheu zeigt, will das SOCP-Team ihn nicht frei im Wald herumwandern lassen. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass er Menschen begegnet und dabei ein Mensch-Tier-Konflikt ausgelöst wird, ist zu gross. Obwohl er gesund und fit ist, wird Fahzren deshalb nie mehr in Freiheit leben können.

Hope (w, Jg. ~1993), blind, traumatisiert

Status: in der Aufgang- und Pflegestation

Hope wurde zusammen mit ihrem Jungtier 2019 schwer verletzt nach einem Konflikt mit Farmern von einem Acker evakuiert. Das Junge hat die Reise zur Auffang- und Pflegestation nicht überlebt und auch Hope war in einem sehr kritischen Zustand. Sie hatte mehrere tiefe Schnittwunden, einen Schlüsselbeinbruch und trug 74 Luftgewehrkugeln in ihrem Körper – auch in ihren Augen. Das Veterinärteam konnte ihren Zustand zum Glück stabilisieren und sie hat sich gut erholt. Bis heute ist sie aber von der Erfahrung schwer traumatisiert und sehr ängstlich gegenüber Menschen, die sie nicht kennt.

«Weil Orang-Utans ein Alter von mehr als 50 Jahren erreichen und die für den Orangutan Haven vorgesehenen Tiere nie wieder freigelassen werden können, müssen wir ihnen unbedingt langfristig ein weitaus akzeptableres und natürlicheres Zuhause bieten als die Metallkäfige, in denen sie heute leben.»

Dr. Citra Kasih Nente

Head of Rehabilitation and Reintroduction Ex-Situ, YEL

Previous slide
Next slide
02

Singvogel-Zuchtprogramm

Für die Zucht von Sumatra-Singvogelarten, die vom Aussterben bedroht sind,  wurden im Orangutan Haven 24 Volieren gebaut. Die Initiative erfolgte auf Anfrage der IUCN Asian Songbird Trade Specialist Group und wird von der Silent Forest-Kampagne der European Association of Zoos and Aquaria unterstützt.

Indonesien weist die zweithöchste Anzahl global bedrohter Vogelarten der Welt auf (146 Arten, Stand September 2015). Der Wildtierhandel ist die grösste Gefahr für viele dieser Vogelarten, neben dem Problem der Degradierung ihres Habitats, des tropischen Regenwalds. Die am stärksten betroffenen Vogelgruppen sind die Singvögel. Sie sind beliebt bei Vogelhaltern, die sie für Singvogelwettbewerbe anmelden, um Preise zu gewinnen.

Gelbscheitelbülbül (Pycnonotus zeylanicus)

Der Gelbscheitelbülbül wird von den Menschen gerne wegen seines melodiösen, trillernden Gesangs gehalten. Die grösste Bedrohung geht deshalb von den Fallenstellern aus, die ihn für den Haustierhandel einfangen. Sein Status auf der IUCN Roten Liste für bedrohte Tierarten ist «stark gefährdet».

Niasbeo (Gracula robusta)

Wilderei für den Haustierhandel ist der Grund, dass der Niasbeo stark vom Aussterben bedroht ist. Seine Art steht in Indonesien offiziell unter Schutz. Die auf der Insel Nias sowie einigen kleineren Inseln vor der Küste endemische Art ist zwar ein «Maskottchen» der Insel, seit etwa 2000 wurden dort aber keine freilebenden Exemplare mehr gesichtet.

Sumatra Lachdrossel (Garrulax bicolor)

Obwohl sie gemäss indonesischem Recht geschützt ist, wird die Sumatra- Lachdrossel seit 2016 auf der IUCN Roten Liste als vom Aussterben bedrohte Art geführt. Wegen ihrem lauten, lärmenden Verhalten ist sie ein leichtes Ziel für Fallensteller, die sie für den lukrativen Verkauf einfangen. Im Orangutan Haven sind mindestens drei Zuchtpaare vorgesehen.

Silberohr-Sonnenvogel (Leiothrix laurinae)

Der kleine aber sehr bunte Silberohr-Sonnenvogel kommt nur auf Sumatra vor und ist unmittelbar vom Aussterben bedroht. Deshalb ist er gemäss indonesischem Recht geschützt und steht seit 2016 auf der Roten Liste. Weil er laut und sehr melodisch singt, ist es ein beliebter Vogel bei den indonesischen Vogelhaltern und wird oft auf dem Markt gesehen. Man weiss nur wenig über seinen aktuellen Status in der Wildnis, aber Experten vermuten, dass sein Bestand in den letzten Jahren stark gesunken ist. 

Previous slide
Next slide
03

Umweltbildung

Das 48 Hektar grosse Gelände des Orangutan Haven wird zu einer einzigartigen und umfassenden Bildungsressource mit Ausstrahlung in die ganze Region. Das Umweltbildungsteam im Orangutan Haven hat in Zusammenarbeit mit örtlichen Schulen und den Bildungsbehörden ein innovatives Lernprogramm für Schulgruppen und andere Personen jeden Alters entwickelt. Dadurch können wir einem breiten und vielfältigen Publikum den Schutz von Wildtieren, den Schutz des Ökosystems und nachhaltige Entwicklung näherbringen.

Individuelle Besucher:innen werden dereinst auf drei verschiedenen Naturlernpfaden, in der interaktiven Ausstellung des Besucherzentrums, im Ecofarming-Zentrum sowie auf geführten Exkursionen in die Natur eintauchen können.

Naturlernpfade

Drei sogenannte Ecotrails führen durch den Orangutan Haven. Diese Naturlernpfade sind thematisch nach den drei Regionen benannt, in denen PanEco und YEL Forschungsstationen betreiben: Leuser Ecosystem, Suaq Balimbing Research Station und das Jantho Orang-Utan-Auswilderungszentrum. Der Ecotrail Leuser, auf dem verschiedene Aspekte des Ökosystems Leuser vorgestellt werden, ist bereits begehbar, der Suaq-Trail wird in den kommenden Monaten erstellt.

Austausch mit Schulen

Seit Juni 2022 sind Schulen aus der ganzen Region eingeladen, den Orangutan Haven zu besuchen. Auf Führungen lernen die Schulklassen das Ökosystem Regenwald kennen und werden für Umweltthemen sensibilisiert. Sie besuchen das Ecofarming-Zentrum und erleben auf dem Naturlernpfad den Regenwald hautnah. Das Umweltbildungsteam besucht auch Schulen, wo sie in Workshops stufengerecht für das Thema Biodiversität sensibilisieren und den Orangutan Haven vorstellen.

Besucherzentrum Rimba Raya mit Ausstellung

Das Besucherzentrum Rimba Raya wird in Zukunft nach Überquerung der ikonischen Bambusbrücke der zentrale Informationspunkt für Besuchende sein. Hier wird man sich über sämtliche Aktivitäten informieren und Führungen buchen können. Kernstück wird eine interaktive Ausstellung bilden, in der die Besucher:innen in das Ökosystem Regenwald eintauchen und erfahren, was sie für den Schutz des einzigartigen Lebensraums tun können. 

Vernetzung und Partnerschaften

Wir organisieren Trainings und Workshops zu Umweltbildung, Biodiversität und Artenschutz für Lehrkräfte und Mitglieder der lokalen Gemeinden. Gemeinsam mit ihnen definieren und entwerfen wir Projekte und setzen diese um. Für Student:innen der Umweltbildung und Nachhaltigen Entwicklung werden Praktika angeboten, damit sie ihre Kompetenzen festigen und in die Praxis umsetzen können.

«Obwohl der Orangutan Haven noch nicht offiziell eröffnet ist, nutzen bereits viele Schulen und andere Gruppen die Naturlehrpfade und die Ecofarm des Haven. Wir haben eine Reihe von Unterrichtsmodulen entwickelt, die den örtlichen Schulen dabei helfen, die Anforderungen des nationalen Lehrplans zu erfüllen. Die Kinder lieben es, an einen so schönen Ort zu kommen.»

Maria Suhatri

Head of Education Team Orangutan Haven, YEL

Previous slide
Next slide
04

Nachhaltige Infrastruktur

Im Orangutan Haven wird Klimaschutz und nachhaltiges Bauen gross geschrieben. Mit der Verwendung neuer innovativer Techniken im Entwurf aber auch im Bau mit Materialien, die vor Ort von uns selber bearbeitet werden, leisten wir Pionierarbeit für ein Umdenken in der konventionellen Baubranche. Zusätzlich sind unsere Gebäude mit sauberen und erneuerbaren Energiequellen ausgestattet. 

Gerade in der Verarbeitung von Bambus sind wir stark. Der Orangutan Haven hat sich durch unsere selbständige Bautätigkeit zu einem Kompetenzzentrum für das Ernten, Behandeln und Verarbeiten von Bambus als nachhaltiges Baumaterial entwickelt. Neben den Gebäuden entstehen diverse Produkte aus Bambus, die vor Ort verwendet oder verkauft werden.

Bambus

Im tropischen Klima auf Sumatra bietet  Bambus eine ideale Grundlage für nachhaltiges Bauen. Es ist ein schnellwachsender, unerschöpflicher Rohstoff und eine ausgezeichnete Alternative zu Harthölzern. Weil die Bambusstangen innen hohl sind und in regelmässigen Abständen sogenannte Knoten aufweisen, sind sie äusserst stabil. Die Bambusstangen, die im hinteren Teil des Geländes wachsen, werden nach Bedarf geerntet, gereinigt, gegen Termiten immunisiert, getrocknet und anschliessend für die Bambuskonstruktionen verwendet. 

Stampflehmtechnik

Im Orangutan Haven wird soweit wie möglich auf Beton verzichtet. Wir ersetzen ihn durch innovative Baustoffe, die aus lokalen Sand- und Lehmarten hergestellt werden. So entstehen beispielsweise Wände aus gestampften Lehmschichten, die mit selbst hergestellten Stampfern in die Schalungen gedrückt werden. Auch die Ufer der Wassergräben rund um die Inseln sind so weit wie möglich aus Lehm und Steinen geformt und verkleidet.

Nachhaltiger Strom

Im Orangutan Haven braucht es eine zuverlässige Energiezufuhr, die wir so weit wie möglich aus sauberen und erneuerbaren Energiequellen selber produzieren. Seit 2017 liefert ein Kleinwasserkraftwerk auf dem Gelände einen Teil des Stroms, zum Beispiel für das Tickethäuschen im Eingangsbereich. Der Strom für die Inselanlage stammt von Solarpaneln, die auf den Dächern der umliegenden Gebäude installiert sind. 

Regenwasseraufbereitung

Die Toilettenanlagen funktionieren mit Regenwasser, das auf den begrünten Dächern gefiltert und gespeichert wird. Auch das Restaurant wird dereinst seinen Wasserbedarf mit gefiltertem Regenwasser decken und das Warmwasser von einer solarbetriebenen Warmwasseraufbereitungsanlage beziehen.

«Die Infrastruktur und die Bauweise im Orangutan Haven sind einzigartig. Es ist ein Ort, wo man nachhaltiges Bauen kennenlernen und entdecken kann. Ich bin stolz darauf, dass wir mit diesen Vorzeigebauten der zukünftigen Generation etwas übergeben können.»

Suherry

Constructionmanager of Orangutan Haven, YEL

Previous slide
Next slide
05

Ecofarming

Das 48 Hektar umfassende Gelände des Orangutan Haven bietet ein enormes Potenzial zur Förderung nachhaltiger ökologischer Landwirtschaftspraktiken. Eine Vielfalt an Nutzpflanzen, Obst und Gemüse, wie Kautschuk, Zitrusfrüchte, Kakao, Durian, Banane, Spinat, Ananas, Zuckerrohr und Ölpalme sind im bestehenden traditionellen Agroforstmosaik des Standorts bereits vorhanden. In der Gärtnerei werden diverse Setzlinge für die Umgebungsgestaltung gezogen.

Das Ecofarming-Zentrum wurde 2019 fertig gestellt. Es dient als Schulungsort für Landwirte, als Aula für Schulen und andere Gruppen sowie als Lager für Saatgut, Feldfrüchte und Werkzeuge.

Previous slide
Next slide

Partner

Der Orangutan Haven wird von der haftungsbeschränkten Kapitalgesellschaft PT Orangutan Haven betrieben. Unsere Schwesterstiftung YEL ist die Hauptaktionärin der Gesellschaft. Sie wird finanziert durch Partnerorganisationen und Spenden privater Personen. 

YEL ist unsere Schwesterstiftung auf Sumatra. Sie ist verantwortlich für die Umsetzung vor Ort. 

  Webseite YEL

Weitere Partner des Orangutan Haven: 

  Animal Friends

  Arcus Foundation

  Europäischer Tier- und Naturschutz e.V.

  Fondation Segré

  Fresno Chaffee Zoo

  Orangutan outreach

  Orang-Utan in Not e.V.

  Post Code Lotterie

  Symphasis

  Toronto Zoo

Ein grosses Dankeschön geht an unsere Partner:innen und alle privaten Spender:innen.

Aktuell

-
Nachhaltige Entwicklung, Orang-Utan-Schutz, Regenwaldschutz

Fünf Organisationen für den Schutz des Leuser-Ökosystems

-
Orang-Utan-Schutz

Wie vertreibt man einen Orang-Utan aus dem Garten?

Meine Spende für den Orangutan Haven und den Regenwaldschutz

Nach oben scrollen