Bye bye Deka!

-
Orangutan protection, Orangutan story
Since 2016 orangutan Deka was in our care in the rescue and rehabilitation station in Sumatra. A few weeks ago, he came a decisive step closer to a life in freedom. A touching film was made of the transport to the reintroduction station in Jambi.

To the film

Deka was transported from the rescue and rehabilitation station to Jambi in November. The journey takes several days and is arduous for both humans and animals. That is why the whole trip needs to involve a lot of people, a caretaker for Deka and quite some organization. See for yourself.

Our SOCP team produced this wonderful film.

Bad past

Deka was freed from the hands of an illegal wildlife trafficker in the summer of 2016, along with three other orangutans. Upon his arrival at the station, his health was worrying. A bullet was stuck in his skull, which the veterinary team had to remove first. He was also weak, anxious and traumatised. Deka probably was a victim of a human-animal conflict, in which his mother died and he was kidnapped as a small orangutan to then become a victim of trafficking.  

His development

Deka’s physical injuries soon healed. He had to struggle with the psychological effects longer. Fortunately, after about two years he became more self-confident, began to detach himself from his conspecifics of the same age and grew increasingly independent. In the last few years, he caught the attention of the care team mainly because he enjoyed climbing so much.

His future

In Jambi, Deka is currently still getting used to the local conditions in the reintroduction station where, closely observed by our team on site, he must prove that he is capable of surviving in the rainforest. In the foreseeable future he will be released into the wild. From then on he will live in the Bukit Tigapuluh National Park on an area of almost 1500km2.

Thanks to his godmothers and godfathers

Deka was a «godparent animal» of PanEco. We thank all his godfathers and godmothers for their loyal support. Thanks to them it is possible that animals like Deka can achieve such a great development.
Would you also like to accompany a young orangutan on their way to freedom? Click here for our sponsorship programme.


My donation for nature conservation
Free amount CHF
My donation for environmental education, species protection and endangered habitats
Free amount CHF
Scroll to Top

Bye bye Deka!

-
Orang-Utan-Geschichten, Orang-Utan-Schutz
Seit 2016 war Orang-Utan Deka in unserer Auffang- und Pflegestation in Sumatra. Vor wenigen Wochen kam er einem Leben in Freiheit einen entscheidenden Schritt näher. Aus dem Transport in die Auswilderungsstation in Jambi ist ein berührender Film entstanden.

Zum Film
Deka wurde im November von der Auffang- und Pflegestation nach Jambi transportiert. Die Reise dauert einige Tage und ist für Mensch und Tier beschwerlich. Deshalb brauchte der ganze Trip viele involvierte Menschen, eine Bezugsperson für Deka und einiges an Organisation. Sehen Sie selbst:

Unser SOCP-Team produzierte diesen wunderbaren Film.

Schlimme Vergangenheit
Deka wurde im Sommer 2016 zusammen mit drei anderen Orang-Utans aus den Fängen eines illegalen Wildtierhändlers befreit. Bei seiner Ankunft in die Station war sein Gesundheitszustand besorgniserregend. Eine Kugel steckte in seinem Schädel, welche das Veterinärinnenteam zuerst entfernen musste. Zudem war er schwach, ängstlich und traumatisiert. Die Vermutung liegt nahe, dass er Opfer eines Mensch-Tier-Konflikts wurde, seine Mutter gestorben ist und er als kleiner Orang-Utan gekidnappt wurde und dann in den Handel kam.

Seine Entwicklung
Dekas körperliche Verletzungen heilten bald. Mit den psychischen hatte Deka länger zu kämpfen. Nach rund zwei Jahren wurde er aber glücklicherweise selbstsicherer und begann, sich von gleichaltrigen Artgenossen zu lösen und wurde zunehmend selbständig. In den letzten Jahren fiel er dem Pflegeteam vor allem durch seine Freude beim Klettern auf.

Seine Zukunft
In Jambi gewöhnt sich Deka gegenwärtig noch an die lokalen Gegebenheiten in der Auswilderungsstation und muss, genau beobachtet vom Team vor Ort, beweisen, dass er im freien Regenwald überlebensfähig ist. In absehbarer Zeit wird er ganz in die Freiheit entschwinden. Ab da wird er ein Leben im Bukit Tigapuluh Nationalpark auf einer Fläche von knapp 1500km2 führen.

Dank an seine Gottis und Göttis
Deka war ein Patentier von PanEco. Wir danken allen seinen Göttis und Gottis herzlich für die treue Unterstützung. Dank ihnen ist es möglich, dass Tiere wie Deka eine solch erfreuliche Entwicklung machen können.
Möchten Sie auch einen jungen Orang-Utan auf dem Weg in die Freiheit begleiten? Klicken Sie hier für unser Patenschaftsprogramm.

Meine Spende für Umweltbildung, Artenschutz und bedrohte Lebensräume
Freibetrag CHF
Meine Spende für Umweltbildung, Artenschutz und bedrohte Lebensräume
Freibetrag CHF
Scroll to Top